You just never know!

trust-god_71412

Since my very first trip here, I have had basically no idea what was going on. I mean that in a good way — God said, “Go,” so I came. Every trip since, I’ve planned out what I know I’ll be doing, but God always does something more, something unexpected and amazing. This time, I had two unplanned/unknown things to do: visiting Hospice Tororo, and meeting up with Pastor Samuel Namatiiti, with whom I was connected via a Twitter-only friend. I’ve blogged already about going to Tororo, and it was great to reconnect with Rinty there. I hope we can begin to help Hospice Tororo in the future, and I know I’ve cemented a friendship.

Today, though, was pretty amazing. Sam asked me to come to his church to meet, which is on the way back to Father’s House from town, on Entebbe Road. Life Church has been around for nearly 50 years, and he’s a founding pastor there. It turns out he’s “retired” but he’s super busy, translating books into Luganda for missionaries, and writing his own books.

Anyway, I arrived and we chatted for about 40 minutes before he showed me a fat book, which turned out to be his translation of the New Testament, Proverbs and Psalms into modern Luganda. I said I’d love a copy for my son when he got it published, at which time he started telling me the difficulties in that… After listening for a few minutes, I said, “I can publish it for you in the States,” and proceded to tell him about CreateSpace and all the things I’ve been doing since last summer publishing (never mind that I actually have a publishing company!). Where we left it was that he is going to mail me a digital copy of the Bible (email is so slow that a large file often gets corrupted) and I’m going to work with my graphic designer and formatter and try to get it published in the next few months!

So… how about that? You meet a new friend and end up publishing a Bible… Yep, you just never know!

POSTSCRIPT: It’s 11:30 at night and I have been overwhelmed for the last half hour with tears… I’ve spent this week in the villages. I know how those people live, and that most can’t speak English. Still, many have treasured English Bibles, or old Lugandan ones that are poorly translated. I don’t know why I’ve been given this amazing task. I am humbled and overcome.

Leave a Reply

